Our Bishops, Clergy, and Administration

Our Polity

The Church is Canonical AND Hierarchical - ruled by Bishops who must rule according to Canon Law.  Our Canons, which establish the Communion and rule all particular Churches of that communion, were unanimously accepted on November 9, 2017 in Chicago.  Everyone in Sacred Ministry, formation, and Religious Life vows to be governed by this code of Canon Law, and nobody acting alone can change it, and no one, regardless of title or position, is above that law.

Our hierarchy consists of the College of Bishops - men consecrated for this Ministry in valid Apostolic Succession.  Each of these Bishops serves as Ordinary of a Diocese, a specific area that typically includes mission territory.

From these, some are elected to office as presider and judge of a larger territory, which carries with it the title of Archbishop with a descriptive, such as Primus or Metropolitan.  These higher titles pertain to offices for a term, not a lifetime, and nobody is exempt from the oversight of the College of Bishops and the Synods of Clergy and Laypeople.

Our Primus

The worldwide leader of our Communion is Archbishop Primus Jerome Lloyd, OSJV.  He was elected for a term of three years during the first Council of Clergy which took place November 9 - 12, 2017 in Chicago, IL, USA.

Primus Jerome also serves as Metropolitan of Europe, Africa, and Asia, and his Diocesan See is Selsey, England.

The Primus currently also serves as the Servant Superior of all Religious Orders in the Communion.

Metropolitan of the Americas and Pacific Rim

The Old Roman Catholic Church of America, which also has been known as the Old Catholic Church of America, is the embodiment of the Communion in the Americas and the Pacific Rim - the rest of the world being embodied by the Old Roman Catholic Church of Europe.

The Bishop of Louisiana and its Missions, the Most Reverend David Persyn, was canonically elected as Metropolitan for a term of 10 years at the Council of Clergy of 2017 in Chicago.

Bishop of Wisconsin

The Diocese of Wisconsin has, as its Ordinary, the Most Reverend Charles Walders as its Bishop.  His See is the historical Archdiocese of Wisconsin, and dates to 1925.  Because of its historicity and role in establishing and maintaining the Church for decades, it holds a place of special honor in the ORCCA.

Vicar Capitular of Chicago

The equally historical and long-standing Diocese of Chicago has as its duly-elected Ordinary the Very Reverend Nioclás Ó Ceallaigh OSF, who was, by his election, raised to an honorary prelature. Msgr. Ó Ceallaigh was also elected to his role as Ordinary at Chicago in November of 2017. 

Msgr. Ó Ceallaigh's See, formerly the Metropolitan See of the Old Roman Catholic Church of North America, also dates to 1925 and also carries a special honor because of its long history and the role it has played in the Church.

Msgr. Ó Cealleigh serves as the Superior of Religious of the Province, and Chicago is the home of the Friary of our Third-Order Franciscans.  All of the Friars are currently in Holy Orders and are therefore Third Order Regulars of the OSF.

Chancellor of the Province of the Americas and Pacific Rim

Our Provincial Chancellor is Dr. Thomas Oliver.  Dr. Oliver has many years in administration of Traditional Old Catholic jurisdictions.  He has been advisor to Bishops, Priests, and Parish councils for decades.